Pom Pom Rug

In an effort to reduce and organize my yarn stash, I’ve been trying to think of ways to use my leftovers instead of throwing them out. I’m currently working on a yo-yo throw, but I’m only using a certain type of yarn for that project. What do I do with all the rest? Then I came across the pom pom rug. They are so stinkin’ cute! Here are some I found in my searches…

And here is my version of the pom pom rug. It seemed like it was going to be somewhat bigger until I started stitching it together. I strung the poms onto long strands of yarn, then I formed them into a circle and stitched them together.

I wrapped the yarn around my fingers 40-60 times depending on the thickness of the yarn.

The completed rug...for now.

I can't wait to add more to it and make it larger!

This project was completed over the course of three days. You definitely need time to sit and work on it. I thought my yarn stash would go farther than this, but it makes for a nice reading cushion. However, I do plan to add more and make it a larger rug. It’s so squishy and soft!

Linked to:

2 Comments

Filed under Decorating, Handmade

2 responses to “Pom Pom Rug

  1. Very cool! Never heard of those, I bet she’s going to love it!

Leave a Reply

